Possible Tips on How to Write Humor

Check out my new novel “chemical reactions ” coming to amazon this summer !!

Legends of Windemere

I get asked a lot about how to write humor, which is strange because I don’t consider myself successfully funny.  I come from a family that makes horrible puns, so I never know if what I think is funny while translate.  That being said, I might have a decent wit and some comedic timing.  This was earned watching Marx Brothers, Abbot & Costello, Laurel & Hardy, and Mel Brooks for most of my youth.  I watched a ton of Marx Brothers and I love that kind of comedy.

There are a few schools of comedy that you can choose from.  I only know a few and I’ll start with the ones I don’t use as often:

  1. Surprise Humor– These are the jokes and gags that come out of nowhere.  Your goal in this school is the surprise the reader with something unexpected and funny.  This can be risky because…

View original post 646 more words

About J.R. Graham

author, writer, artist and journalist of Western New York. View all posts by J.R. Graham

Leave a Reply

